Veganism has been around since the mid-20th century, but it’s only been the last decade or so that it has transitioned from a diet to a lifestyle. Thus, vegan cereals are now an important part of the cerealverse.
Both old brands, as well as new ones, are creating vegan options, and for good reason. They are popular, healthy and highlight the origin story of cereal itself. A connection between man, meal, and nature.
One of the biggest issues that vegan cereal had to overcome was sweetening, as sugar cane is not approved by strict vegans. Instead, sweeteners such as organic coconut palm sugar and brown rice syrup are relied on by most vegan cereal makers.
So, what are the best vegan cereals, you ask? Well, we have a list. Let us know what you think is the best vegan cereal.
365 Everyday Value Organic Morning O’s
This is among the brands that have a conscious.
Not only is this whole grain oat, grain oat flour, and rice blend, so it is gluten-free as well as vegan, but the brand prides itself on creating low to no processed cereals in a way that has a low carbon footprint and a moderate water footprint. So, the good feels begin the second you buy them.
Cascadian Farm Organic Fruitful O’s
Certified organic and Non-GMO verified this is for the loopers. Sweetened but without adding any artificial flavors. The ingredients list, though short, does include cane sugar, so whether or not you would consider this on the list of acceptable vegan ingredients is up to you.
Love Grown Comet Crispies
These are vegan cereals that combine the health of the vegan diet with the fun of mainstream cereal.
Comet Crispies will have you snap, crackle, and pop with chocolate thoughts of the cerealverse’s puffed rice OGs (Original Giants). These are kid-focused vegan cereals that are bean-based, so they provide a bit of protein and fiber as well as sweetness.
Nature’s Path Rice Puffs
A Non-GMO project verified cereal, this cereal brand is 100% whole grain as the only ingredient is organic brown rice.
Rice is the perfect vegan food, so puffed rice makes the most sense for vegan cereal brands to use. Add some fresh fruit, and you have breakfast done simple and right. Oh, don’t forget to try their maple syrup variety.
Forager Project Organic Grain-Free Strawberry Os Cereal
Dairy-free may seem like a weird platform for a cereal brand, but that is what Forager Project is known for.
They have created an entire line of vegan cereal options with only a handful of ingredients. The stars? Well, pea protein, navy beans, cassava flour, safflower oil, and cane sugar are the base, and then they add natural flavors to top them off.
Kashi 7 Whole Grain Puffs
Kashi food has made a big name for itself due to its ability to combine super healthy with super delicious. A feat that many health food brands cannot seem to master.
Vegan products only need to be vegan; they don’t need to be bland. Kashi has transformed plant-based cereal into a breed of its own. It’s also sugar-free.
Quaker Life Original
Now you’re talking, a cerealverse OG to the rescue.
On a scale of 1-10, Life consistently ranks a 9+ for both flavor and taste. This is a cereal that makes adults feel like a kid again, but kids feel all grown up when enjoying it. Along with rolled oats, Life cereal is the signature of Quaker, and it has stood the test of time for good reason. Everyone loves Life.
Catalina Crunch Fruity Flavor Keto Cereal
Think vegan granola. A keto and vegan cereal, Catalina tries to make cereal for everyone to enjoy. It’s a plant-based cereal with 7 sources of fiber and protein, including chicory root fiber, pea protein, and peanuts. It’s nearly a third of your daily fiber intake and a quarter of your protein per serving. And as it’s sugar-free, it’s great for blood sugar concerns as well.
Food For Life Ezekiel 4:9 Organic Sprouted Grain Cereal
“Take also unto thee wheat, and barley, and beans, and lentils, and millet, and spelt, and put them in one vessel,”
That is the inspiration for this bowl of cereal, and it’s the ingredient list as well. It’s entirely whole grains and beans, and when eaten with oat milk or almond milk, you probably cannot build a healthier cereal option.
Nature’s Path Envirokidz Amazon Flakes
The power of 3. Well, in the hands of this brand anyhow. This kid-friendly vegan cereal is made from 3 ingredients:
- Cane Sugar
- Sea Salt
Nature’s Path – Cascadian Farm brands pride themselves on creating maximum cereal happiness from the most minimal of ingredients. Natural ingredients such as pumpkin seeds, whole grain wheat, oats, sugar, and salt turn into magic in their hands. This could be the best example.
Barbara’s Organic Corn Flakes
Can’t teach an old dog new tricks? As with Barbara’s Bakery Puffins cereal, someone forgot to tell Barbara that.
The cerealverse was built on corn flakes, but this is not your grandparent’s cereal. Remember the power of 3? How about this trilogy: milled corn, sugar cane, and sea salt. This is whole foods with no kidding around.
Trader Joe’s Crisp Rice
Trader Joe’s has become synonymous with offering a great variety of excellent food. However, don’t confuse vegan for gluten-free. With that said, it’s a very good alternative for making Rice Krispie snacks, and if you add some dark chocolate and peanut butter, well, just WOW.
Fiber One™ Breakfast Cereal, Original Bran
Let’s be honest; oat bran can be boring. When it comes to vegan-friendly cereal brands, Fiber One is easily at the top of the list of the best vegan cereal brands you can buy. What more can be said? Its whole grain wheat and corn bran with honey clusters, toasted oats, and brown sugar. This is not just a great Raisin Bran alternative but the perfect cereal for diabetics as well.
Mom’s Best Cereals Safari Cocoa Crunch
If you’re cuckoo for cocoa… well, you know what we mean. Here is your vegan cereal solution. This is a chocolate forward bowl of cereal. No exotic ingredients here. Simply corn flour, sugar, and cocoa. But, the taste is, well, legendary.
Lakanto Cinnamon Almond Crunch Granola
Cinnamon Toast Crunch has set a very high bar in cerealverse, but that hasn’t kept others from trying to claim a piece of that fame.
This is more granola than vegan cereal but is done well. Coconut flakes and coconut oil, sunflower seeds, almonds, chia, cinnamon, and much more. No soy flakes or gluten-free oats here. This is snack food type eating. Can you imagine what peanut butter would do for this!
Cap’n Crunch’s Peanut Butter Crunch
Peanut butter could be one of the best parts of a vegan diet, and this cerealverse OG has you covered.
If a vegan cereal is the only requisite, then WOW, you are in luck. Yea, maybe not the healthiest vegan cereal, but the most fun. There’s no chickpea flour, and this is not among the plant-based cereal options. This is pure old-school cereal fun.
Kellogg’s® Just Right Original
In case you were wondering, there is a cereal that was specifically invented for Australian athletes, and this is it.
It’s sort of a Raisin Bran for down under. It’s a whole grain cereal of wheat, corn, and rice flakes with almonds, date nuggets, and sultanas (raisins). Sadly, this is no longer available in the US but is still an Aussie favorite.
Is the vitamin D in cereal vegan?
Vitamin D3 is an essential nutrient that people need, but there is no known plant source for it. So, all Vitamin D3 comes solely from animal-based sources. Thus, the presence of Vitamin D3 in a food product means that the product contains animal-based ingredients. Strict adherence to the vegan diet would not permit this.
How can you tell if a cereal is vegan?
The obvious thing to do is read and review the ingredients list. If a food contains any animal-based or animal-sourced ingredients, then it would not be considered vegan or vegan friendly. For breakfast cereals, some of the most common red flags would be:
- Vitamin D3
Can you eat oatmeal as a vegan?
Every type of oatmeal is vegan unless there are added ingredients that are animal-based or animal-sourced. Oatmeal, in its natural and unaltered state, is one of the best foods that you can eat for breakfast. It’s additives, like honey or sugars, that are the issue for some vegans.
Is Kellogg’s Rice Krispies suitable for vegans?
This issue goes directly to how strictly a vegan practitioner adheres to and interprets the vegan protocols. This cereal contains Vitamin D3. Vitamin D3 is only sourced from animals. Thus, its presence means this cereal has an animal-based / animal-sourced ingredient, which would mean it is not vegan.
The vegan lifestyle has a multitude of options in the cerealverse, and they are not the boring old story that was once considered normal. Today’s vegan cereal lover is not stranded in an isolated corner of the cereal aisle. They have the same variety of options as other diets and lifestyles. Do you think the cerealverse is vegan-friendly?