Maple Cheerios is a breakfast cereal that’s become a staple in households, not only in the United States but worldwide too. We all know that breakfast is the most important meal, but we want to know if a bowl of Cheerios is the best way to start your day.
Is this cereal healthy? Is it suitable for those following keto or vegan diets? How much fiber is in those little crunchy O’s? We answer all of those questions and more right here. If you’d like to know more about what you and your family consume each morning, keep reading for more information.
Made with real maple syrup, this variety of Cheerios is for those with a seriously sweet tooth! Although this Cheerios flavor contains many important vitamins and minerals, keep in mind that these aren’t naturally occurring nutrients, and it’s still considered processed food.
One 3/4 cup serving of this Cheerios breakfast cereal contains:
- Fat: 2g 2% DV
- Sodium: 160mg 7% DV
- Carbohydrates: 29g 11% DV
- Sugars: 11g 22% DV
- Protein: 3g
- Vitamin D: 2mcg 10% DV
- Iron: 3.6mg 20% DV
- Potassium: 150mg 4% DV
The ingredients in this breakfast cereal include:
- Whole grain oats
- Brown sugar syrup
- Maple syrup and other natural flavors
- Oat bran
- Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols)
- Folic acid
Additionally, this Cheerios breakfast cereal doesn’t contain any colors from artificial sources or artificial flavors.
Are Maple Cheerios Healthy?
Despite it being a whole grain oat cereal, it is still highly processed. It contains very unhealthy ingredients such as glucose, corn starch, and preservatives. These ingredients offer very little, if any, nutritional value.
The FDA recommends that glucose makes up no more than 10% of your daily caloric intake. This variety contains 11 g of glucose per serving, which isn’t a lot on its own. But, if you’re consuming other sugary foods each day, you’ll need to keep a close eye on your intake.
According to a study by the Journal of Nutrition in October 2015, sweeteners such as high-fructose corn syrup and sucrose can raise your triglyceride levels. If your glucose tolerance is impaired, these sweeteners may raise your inflammatory and glycemic responses.
Are Maple Cheerios Gluten-Free?
Yes, this flavor is marketed as gluten-free, which is stated on the front of the box. It doesn’t contain wheat, barley, or any other gluten products.
Because of that, gluten-free Maple Cheerios can be enjoyed by those suffering from Coeliac disease or gluten intolerances.
Are Maple Cheerios Vegan?
No, unfortunately, they’re are not vegan. Even though they contain whole grains, they also contain ingredients that aren’t vegan. These include vitamin D3 and glucose, and any products that are sourced from animals can’t be considered vegan.
It may come as a surprise, but refined glucose isn’t vegan because it’s quite often manufactured using bone char from animals. This is used to remove impurities and give it its distinctive white color.
You may also be surprised to learn that vitamin D3 is not vegan either, as it’s usually sourced from sheep’s wool. This depends on how strict a vegan you are, but many people may not feel comfortable consuming food that contains animal-based ingredients.
Are Maple Cheerios Keto?
No, this cereal is not a suitable product for keto diets due to its highly processed and high-carb nature. It also contains glucose, syrup, and canola oil, none of which offer any nutritional value.
The syrup and glucose can cause your blood sugar levels to rise, preventing you from staying in ketosis. Additionally, the oil is highly refined and is usually prone to oxidation, potentially causing inflammation in your body.
Are Maple Cheerios High In Protein?
Breakfast cereals, in general, aren’t known for being good protein sources, and this variety of Cheerios cereal is no different. With only 3 grams of protein per serving, this is not a protein-rich food product.
Because of its delicious maple flavor, Cheerios should be thought of as a dessert or a weekend breakfast treat rather than a daily breakfast.
Are Maple Cheerios High In Fiber?
Whole-grain oat foods are generally an excellent source of fiber, but sadly, with just 2.7g per serving, the fiber content in Cheerios is very low. This is equal to just 9% of your daily fiber needs. To meet these needs, you should choose a wholesome breakfast that provides lots of roughage.
Despite being made from whole grain oats, there isn’t enough in Cheerios to provide sufficient amounts of fiber. For this reason, you shouldn’t rely on this cereal to provide you with enough fiber for a healthy diet.
Maple Cheerios Varieties
With a whopping 16 different varieties, it’s easy to see why Cheerios cereal has become such a popular option. Some of the varieties include:
- Honey Nut Cheerios
- Apple Cinnamon
- Frosted Fruity
- Very Berry
- Oat crunch
- Pumpkin spice
- Chocolate strawberry
- Chocolate peanut butter
- Oat crunch almond
Maple Cheerios Store Brand Alternatives
If you can’t seem to find this cereal in your local store or you’re looking for a healthier alternative, there are plenty of options. You could opt for the original Cheerios, which contain less sugar and more fiber than the Maple variety.
If you’d like something a bit sweeter, Kroger sells their own brand of cereals, and although they don’t seem to stock a maple-flavored variety, this Honey Nut cereal is likely to satisfy your sweet tooth!
Where You Can Buy Maple Cheerios?
Cheerios and the different varieties can be bought from the Cheerios website. There’s a “Buy it Now” button that will tell you the stores where it can be bought, such as Kroger. It can also be found online on sites such as Amazon.
Famous Maple Cheerios Cereal Commercials
Since this flavor is fairly new and a special edition, there aren’t any “famous” commercials for it. It has, however, been reviewed by many people on Youtube.
One popular channel provided an in-depth review of the Maple Cheerios cereal, including the packaging design and flavor, both with and without milk.
There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.